Who We Are

Pacific Forum Senior Staff

Robert P. Girrier, Rear Admiral, USN (Ret.), President

Bob Girrier recently joined Pacific Forum. With over 30 years maritime experience and extensive background in the Indo-Asia-Pacific building high-level partner relationships and capacity, he brings operations, strategy development, crisis-response and negotiation skills to Pacific Forum activities.

Carl W. Baker, Executive Director

Mr. Baker oversees all Pacific Forum programs and is the coeditor of Comparative Connections. He has extensive experience as a foreign policy and political affairs analyst having lived and worked for extended periods in Korea, Japan, and the Philippines. Previously, he was a faculty member at the Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies.

David Santoro, Director and Senior Fellow of Nuclear Policy

Dr. David Santoro manages Pacific Forum’s track 1.5/2 nuclear policy dialogues and Asia-Pacific multilateral meetings on nonproliferation and nuclear security. He has worked on nuclear issues in France, Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom.

Crystal D. Pryor, Research Fellow/Program Director

Dr. Pryor is a program director for Pacific Forum’s security cooperation programs. Her research has focused on US-Japan relations and strategic trade controls.

Ralph A. Cossa, President Emeritus and WSD-Handa Chair in Peace Studies

Mr. Cossa sits on the boards of numerous foreign relations organizations throughout the Asia-Pacific region. As a recognized expert on U.S./Asia-Pacific foreign relations and policy, Mr. Cossa joins conferences for political, economic, military, and business leaders in countries around the world.

Pacific Forum Staff

Georgette Almeida, Executive Assistant
Jesslyn Cheong, Senior Program Manager
Nicholas Ciuffetelli, Director of Publications/Program Manager
Brooke Mizuno, Director of Grants Management and Institutional Support
Thuy Nguyen, Development Manager
Radford Sagarang, Finance Manager
Keoni Williams, Director, Young Leaders Program


Pacific Forum Resident Fellows

Phone Myint Naing, Nonproliferation Fellow
Jeffrey Ordaniel, Vasey Fellow/WSD-Handa Fellow
Kyaw Si Thu, Nonproliferation Fellow


Senior Associates

  • William Lee Howell, World Economic Forum, Geneva
  • Christopher Sigur, Federal Reserve Bank, San Francisco
  • Linda Paul

Senior Advisors

  • Brad Glosserman, Center for Rule-Making Strategy, Tama University
  • Bonnie Glaser, Senior Adviser for Asia, Freeman Chair in China Studies, CSIS
  • Scott Snyder, Senior Fellow for Korea Studies, Council on Foreign Relations
  • Susan E. Stahl, Foreign Service Officer (ret.), U.S. Department of State
  • Motohiro Tsuchiya, Professor, Graduate School of Media and Governance, Keio University

Adjunct Fellows

  • John HemmingsDirector, Asia Studies Centre, The Henry Jackson Society
  • Ryo Hinata-Yamaguchi, Visiting Professor at Pusan National University
  • Akira Igata, Visiting Professor, Center for Rule-Making Strategy, Tama University
  • Tomoko Kiyota, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan
  • Mihoko Matsubara, Chief Security Officer for Japan, Palo Alto Networks
  • JunbeomPyon, Political Affairs Officer, United Nations
  • Atman Trivedi, Managing Director, Hills & Company
  • Tom Le, Assistant Professor of Politics, Pomona College

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors oversee and direct the business and affairs of Pacific Forum.


  • James A. Kelly, Counselor and President Emeritus, Pacific Forum; former Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs (Honolulu) 


  • Brenda Lei Foster, Executive-in-Residence, Shidler College of Business, University of Hawaii; former President, American Chamber of Commerce in Shanghai (Honolulu)
  • Carl Baker, Executive Director, Pacific Forum
  • Ralph A. Cossa, President Emeritus and WSD-Handa Chair in Peace Studies, Pacific Forum
  • Robert P. Girrier, Rear Admiral, USN (Ret.), President, Pacific Forum
  • David A. Heenan, Visiting Professor, College of William and Mary (Honolulu)
  • Warren K. K. Luke, Chairman & CEO, Hawaii National Bank (Honolulu)
  • Lauren Kahea Moriarty, Principal, Aloha Visions; former US Ambassador to Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) (Honolulu)
  • Torkel Patterson, Vice Chairman, International High Speed Rail Association; Director, Central Japan Railway Company (Tokyo)
  • Jean E. Rolles, Community Volunteer; retired Vice President, Community Relations, outrigger Enterprises, Inc. (Honolulu)
  • Charles B. Salmon, Adjunct Senior Fellow, Office of the President, East-West Center; former Ambassador to Laos (Honolulu)
  • H. Howard Stephenson, former Chairman and CEO, Bank of Hawaii (Honolulu)
  • Gerald Sumida, Partner, Carlsmith Ball LLP (Honolulu)
  • Barbara Tanabe, Partner, Ho’akea Communications (Honolulu) 
  • Ronald "Zap" Zlatoper, Admiral USN (Ret.), Savana, Inc; Slovenian Consul Hawaii; White House Fellows Commissioner (Honolulu) 

International Advisory Board


  • Richard Armitage, President, Armitage International; former US Deputy Secretary of State (Washington, DC)
  • Joseph S. Nye, Jr., Distinguished Service Professor, John F. Kennedy School of Government; former Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs (Boston)


  • Thomas B. Hayward, Admiral USN (Ret.) President, Hayward Associates, Inc.; former Chief of Naval Operations and member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff (Seattle)

Chairman Emeritus

  • Brent Scowcroft, Lieutenant General USAF (Ret.); President, The Forum for International Policy; former Assistant to the President, National Security Affairs (Washington, DC)​
  • James F. Armington, LtCol USAF (Ret.); Former Asia Pacific regional Executive for Boeing (Tokyo) and former Japan Country Director, OSD Policy (Washington)
  • Mary G. F. Bitterman, President, The Bernard Osher Foundation; former President, James Irvine Foundation (Honolulu and San Francisco)
  • Brunhilde K. "Bruni" Bradley, Commander USN (Ret.); Board Vice-Chairman, Military Child Education Coalition; Board Member, Center for Tomorrow’s Leaders Hawaii (Seoul)
  • Choi Shin Won, Chairman and CEO, SK Networks; former Vice-Chairman and CEO, SK Distribution (Seoul)
  • Karl W. Eikenberry, Lt.Gen., USA (Ret.); Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center, Stanford University; former US Ambassador to Afghanistan; (Stanford, CA)
  • Haruhisa Handa, Chairman, Worldwide Support for Development (Tokyo)
  • Ronald J. Hays, Admiral USN (Ret.) International Business Consultant; former Commander-in-Chief, US Pacific Command (Honolulu)
  • Lee Howell, Managing Director, World Economic Forum (Geneva)
  • Irene Hirano Inouye, President, US-Japan Council; Trustee, Ford Foundation (Washington, DC)
  • Jin Hyun Kim, Senior Research Advisor, Korea International Trade Association; former ROK Ministry of Science and Technology (Seoul)
  • Charles D. Lake, II, President, Aflac International Inc.; Chairman and Representative in Japan, Aflac Japan (Tokyo)
  • Hon Sir Jim McLay, KNZM QSO, Former Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand and New Zealand's Consul General in Honolulu (Honolulu)
  • Yoshihiko Miyauchi, Chairman and CEO, ORIX Corporation (Tokyo)
  • Robert M. ‘Skipp’ Orr, Former Ambassador to the Asian Development Bank; Member of the board of Directors, Council of American Ambassadors; former President. Boeing Japan (Kamakura, Japan) 
  • R.T. Peng, President, President, Taiwan Transportation Machinery Corp. (Taipei)
  • Rex C.A. Reyes, Chairman and CEO, Galaxy Group (Manila)
  • James J. Shinn, Former Assistant Secretary of Defense for East Asia (Princeton, NJ)
  • Sarasin Viraphol, Executive Vice President, Charoen Pokphand Group; former Thai Ambassador to the Philippines; former Director-General, Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Bangkok)
  • Jusuf Wanandi, Chairman, Supervisory Board, Centre for Strategic and International Studies (Jakarta)

Pacific Forum Founder L.R. Vasey with Pacific Forum resident fellows.